Don’t follow your heart.

cathal-mac-an-bheatha-208192As a college senior just a few weeks from graduation, these past few months have been a whirlwind of tough decisions.

How to spend my time? Where to move in May? Whether or not to go alone? What job to take?

The list seems endless.

Throughout the whole process, my heart has been very loud. It’s told me to take the job with more money or the job in the more exciting city instead of the job where I knew I could best serve Christ.

It’s told me that my remaining time in this town is short and that I should use it for my own personal gain and entertainment.

It’s told me to cling on to security and to hold onto things just in case.

But Jeremiah 17:9 says:

“The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?”

The answer is not me, and friends, it’s not you either.

We cannot trust the desires of our heart, and more than that, we certainly shouldn’t chalk those desires up as being from the Lord.

The heart is deceitful — a product of our sinful nature.

But there is good news in this: God understands the heart. He understands our deepest desires and strongest wants. He knows us personally and wants what is best for us.

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 

And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 

Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

-Matthew 6:25-33

God cares about the birds of the air and the details of beauty in the flowers. How much more does He care about us and the littlest details of our lives? He knows what is best for us way more than our hearts ever could.

I’ve seen that continuously in the smallest details God has worked out in my life.

In Jeremiah 17, before he tells us that our hearts are deceitful, Jeremiah gives us some other wise words:

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in Him. They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.” -Jeremiah 17:7-8

I pray that we remember this, and I pray that we rest in the assurance of our Father. I pray that we seek His voice and wisdom, and contrary to our culture, I pray that we do not follow our own hearts.

Leave a Reply

